Look Out for Shinkai Makoto's New Film!

Shinkai Makoto’s Hoshi wo Ou Kodomo, (Children who Chase Lost Voices from Deep Below) is scheduled for release May 7th 2011 in cinemas throughout Japan. No news on when we’re getting the blu-ray release yet, so it’ll be a while before we get the rip.

Makoto Shinkai’s works are breathtakingly beautiful. His movie’s backgrounds are filled with so much details (well, that’s what you get when you work with photo ne :D) and the colours are so saturated and vibrant. He’s also the very reason why I’m studying to become a 3D environment artist slash matte painter. So this is a tribute to his awesome director/artist!

 


I guess his most well known work is Byousoku 5 Centimeter? I still can’t remember the word for a genre that focuses on a female lead that’s piloting some type of mecha machine but mecha isn’t the main drive of the whole story’s plot, but some emotional interaction between the character with herself or the people around her. Yes, there’s a term for this that I just can’t put my mind to it. Maybe I’ll have to ask my bf when he’s awake… Anyway, his past works are usually like that. Epitome example would be “Hoshi no Koe” and his other work, “Kumo no mukou, Yakusoku no Bashou“.

 


I don’t know why people are comparing Shinkai Makoto to the likes of Ghibli, but I guess with his latest movie, they’re somewhat similar due to the story’s plot? Hoshi wo Ou Kodomo most likely would make a good RPG game though… And I still think Shinkai Makoto’s background has so much more colour variation and the saturation’s higher than the films from Studio Ghibli. I guess it’s an honour to be viewed as the next up and coming Ghibli. :D!

 

From what I can assume from the trailer and reading the summary from the movie’s official website, the lead girl Asuna has this crystal radio momento from her dad  who seemed to have passed away.

 

One day, she started hearing voices from the radio and met a boy from the underworld called Shun. They were able to have heartfelt talks and easily connected with each other but all of a sudden, the boy vanished without a trace. Wanting to meet him again, she embarked on a journey she’s never dreamt of being in.

 

Of course she had help from a teacher who dresses up in SWAT team uniform who’s actually going down to the world below in search of his lost wife.

 

Hoshi wo Ou Kodomo seems like a really fun movie to watch, and I hope there’s a good ending for the movie this time around. All his other films left me just lost and empty. :( The main characters always seem to not meet the people they want to. *weeps*Movie’s official site: http://www.hoshi-o-kodomo.jp/top.php

Shinkai Makoto’s website: http://www2.odn.ne.jp/~ccs50140/

Shinkai Makoto’s twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/shinkaimakoto

5 thoughts on “Look Out for Shinkai Makoto's New Film!

  1. omg, I was doing compositing work and I typed compositing instead of "COMPOSING"!! FUCK! Work's taking over my speech toooooo!!XD Shinkai Makoto must be a Tenmon fan cause he's been using Tenmon since Kumo no Mukou, I believe?

  2. This guy is mad with background, his work is simply gorgeous. But I don't know why, the stories have never really attracted me DD:

Leave a Reply

